2018 Taxation Theory Conference

Call for Papers

The Fourth Taxation Theory Conference will be held at Washington University in St. Louis on July 13-14, 2018. 

The following people have already agreed to give keynote talks:
Alessandro Pavan (Northwestern University)
Christopher Sleet (Carnegie Mellon Tepper School of Business)
Stefanie Stantcheva (Harvard University)

The conference organizers are:
Marcus Berliant (Washington University in St. Louis)
Craig Brett (Mount Allison University)
Maxim Troshkin (Cornell University)


There are no fees, but you MUST register for the conference by submitting the form below to attend. 

Deadline for registration is July 1, 2018.



The conference is sponsored by the College of Arts and Sciences, the Department of Economics, the Weidenbaum Center, and the Center for Research in Economics and Strategy in the Olin School of Business, all at Washington University in St. Louis.

Conference Dinner


Seigle Hall, 3rd floor Spillway, and Rooms 305/306


The organizers invite submissions of papers that deal with taxation theory. Papers may be either normative or positive (e.g., political economy). Empirical papers will be considered provided that the empirical analysis makes essential use of a theoretical model. Preference will be given to complete manuscripts, but extended abstracts (approximately two pages) will also be considered.  Partial or full reimbursement of presenters’ travel expenses will be available, contingent on the overall budget constraint.

Submissions closed on February 15, 2018.

Contact: Jessica Cain