The 35th Annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Commemoration, honoring the legacy of Dr. King and the impact he has made on those who carry the torch for humanity will take place on Monday, January 17, 2022, 7:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.

The Zoom Webinar event is free and open to the public. Register now.

Past Keynote Speakers

Attorney Margaret Bush Wilson (2006)
Professor John Baugh (2008)
Professor Camille Nelson (2009)
Professor Bob Hansman (2010)
Professor Shanti Parikh & Judge Jimmie Edwards (2011)
Chancellor Emeritus William Danforth (2012)
Professor and Vice Provost Adrienne Davis (2013)
Dr. Lerone Martin (2014)
Professor Kimberly Jade Norwood (2015)
Dr. Jason Purnell (2016)
Rev. Traci D. Blackmon (2017)
Dr. Rev. Barbara Reynolds (2019)
Chancellor Andrew D. Martin (2020)
Dr. Peniel E. Joseph (2021)

Rosa L. Parks Award

The Rosa L. Parks Award is given to persons and/or organizations that exemplify the valor of both Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and Rosa L. Parks.

Past Rosa L. Parks Award Recipients:
Margaret Bush Wilson (inaugural recipient, 2006)
Dean James McLeod and Chancellor Emeritus William Danforth (2007)
Malik & DeBorah Ahmed and Better Family Life
Dean Adrienne Glore (retired) and Judy Bentley of CHIPS (2009)
Professor Bob Hansman and his son Jovan Hansman for City Faces (2010)
Professor Shanti Parikh and Judge Jimmie Edwards (2011)
Ron Himes (2012)
Melvin White, Beloved Streets of America (2013)
Jamala Rogers (2014)
Norman R. Seay (2015)
Sylvester Brown Jr., Sweet Potato Project (2016)
Leah Merrifield, Associate Vice Chancellor for Community Engagement (2017)
James Clark, (2018)
Mark S. Wrighton, Chancellor of Washington University in St. Louis and Risa Zwerling Wrighton

The Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Youth Service Award

Kiland Sampa (2016)
Mya Petty (2017)
Audrey Ming Lan Goedegebuure (2018)