## WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY LAW WHITNEY R. HARRIS WORLD LAW INSTITUTE

# CRIMES AGAINST HUMANITY INITIATIVE April 12-15, 2009 List of Participants

#### **Steering Committee Members**

Chair: Professor Leila Nadya Sadat, Washington University in St. Louis School of Law; Director of the Whitney R. Harris World Law Institute

Professor M. Cherif Bassiouni, DePaul University College of Law; President Emeritus of the International Human Rights Law Institute.

Ambassador Hans Corell, former Under-Secretary-General for Legal Affairs and the Legal Counsel of the United Nations

Justice Richard Goldstone, Fordham University School of Law; former Chief Prosecutor of the International Criminal Tribunals for the Former Yugoslavia and for Rwanda

Mr. Juan Méndez, President, International Center for Transitional Justice

Professor William Schabas, Director, the Irish Centre for Human Rights, National University of Ireland, Galway

Judge Christine Van den Wyngaert, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia; International Criminal Court

#### **Participants**

Professor David Akerson, Sturm College of Law

Professor Payam Akhavan, McGill University Faculty of Law

Professor Diane Marie Amann, University of California Davis School of Law

Professor Dr. Kai Ambos, Georg-August-Universität, Göttingen

Ms. Elizabeth Andersen, American Society of International Law

Ms. Evelyn Ankumah, Executive Director, Africa Legal Aid

Dr. Kelly Dawn Askin, Open Society Justice Initiative

Professor Elizabeth Borgwardt, Washington University in St. Louis

Dr. Frank Chalk, Concordia University

Professor Roger S. Clark, Rutgers University School of Law-Camden

Professor David Crane, Syracuse University College of Law

Ms. Margaret deGuzman, Irish Center for Human Rights at the National University of Ireland

Professor Mark Drumbl, Washington & Lee University School of Law

Mr. Mark Ellis, International Bar Association

Dr. John Hagan, Northwestern University

Professor Hurst Hannum, Tufts University, The Fletcher School

Mr. Whitney R. Harris, former prosecutor for the International Military Tribunal at Nuremberg

Ambassador Feisal Amin Rasoul al-Istrabadi, Indiana University School of Law

Mr. Larry Johnson, former United Nations Assistant Secretary-General for Legal Affairs

Professor David Luban, Georgetown University Law Center

Professor Larry May, Washington University in St. Louis

Mr. Guénaël Mettraux, former associate legal officer and former defense counsel, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia

Professor Michael A. Newton, Vanderbilt University Law School

Ms. Laura M. Olson, American Society of International Law

Professor Valerie Oosterveld, University of Western Ontario Faculty of Law

List of Participants

Professor Diane Orentlicher, American University Washington College of Law

Professor Mark Osiel, T.M.C. Asser Institute, University of Amsterdam

Professor Naomi Roht-Arriaza, University of California, Hastings College of the Law

Mr. Leonard Rubenstein, Physicians for Human Rights

Professor Michael P. Scharf, Case Western Reserve University School of Law

Professor David Scheffer, Northwestern University School of Law

Ambassador Thomas A. Schweich, Washington University in St. Louis School of Law

Professor Elies van Sliedregt, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Professor Göran Sluiter, University of Amsterdam

Dr. Gregory H. Stanton, Genocide Watch

Professor Jane Stromseth, Georgetown University Law Center

Mr. B. Don Taylor III, International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

Professor Melissa Waters, Washington University in St. Louis School of Law

Mr. John Clint Williamson, Ambassador-at-Large for War Crimes Issues

### **Rapporteurs**

Kate Allen, Harvard Law School

Miriam Gouvea Cohen, Harvard Law School

Joseph Vincent Barrett, Harvard Law School