WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY LAW WHITNEY R. HARRIS WORLD LAW INSTITUTE

CRIMES AGAINST HUMANITY INITIATIVE

FORGING A CONVENTION ON CRIMES AGAINST HUMANITY

MARCH 11 - 12, 2010

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Steering Committee Members

Chair: Professor Leila Nadya Sadat, Washington University School of Law; Director, Whitney R. Harris World Law Institute

Professor M. Cherif Bassiouni, DePaul University College of Law; President Emeritus of the International Human Rights Law Institute.

Ambassador Hans Corell, former U.N. Under-Secretary-General for Legal Affairs

Justice Richard J. Goldstone, Georgetown University Law Center; former Chief Prosecutor of the International Criminal Tribunals for the former Yugoslavia and for Rwanda

Mr. Juan E. Méndez, Visiting Professor, Washington College of Law, American University, Washington D.C.

Professor William A. Schabas, Director, The Irish Centre for Human Rights, National University of Ireland, Galway

Judge Christine Van den Wyngaert, International Criminal Court

Expert Participants

Ms. Elizabeth Abi-Mershed, Assistant Executive Secretary, Inter-American Commission on Human Rights

Mr. Mike Abramowitz, Director, Committee on Conscience, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

Mr. Anees Ahmed, Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia

Professor Payam Akhavan, McGill University

Ms. Elizabeth Andersen, Executive Director, American Society of International Law

Ms. Evelyn Ankumah, Executive Director, Africa Legal Aid

Mr. James Apple, President, International Judicial Academy

Ms. Cecile Aptel, International Justice Expert

Judge Micki I. Aronson, Administrative Appeals Judge, U.S. Social Security Administration

Professor John Barrett, St. John's University School of Law

Mr. John Berger, Cambridge University Press

Mr. Gilbert Bitti, International Criminal Court

Dr. Michael Bohlander, Durham University Law School

Ms. Andrea Bosshard, First Secretary, Legal and Political Section, Embassy of Switzerland

Mr. Serge Brammertz, Chief Prosecutor, International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

Mr. Scott Carlson, U.S. Department of State

Mr. David Crane, Syracuse University; former Chief Prosecutor, Special Court for Sierra Leone

Professor Robert Cryer, Birmingham Law School

Ms. Mélanie Deshaies, University of Montreal

Mr. Richard Dicker, Director, International Justice Program, Human Rights Watch

Professor Yoram Dinstein, Tel Aviv University

Mr. Nick Donovan, The Aegis Trust

Professor Max du Plessis, University of KwaZulu-Natal; Institute for Security Studies

Mr. Mohamed El Zeidy, International Criminal Court

Dr. Elizabeth Ferris, Senior Fellow, The Brookings Institution

Mr. Jerry Fowler, President, The Save Darfur Coalition

Ms. Julia Fromholz, Human Rights First

Ms. Jacqueline Geis, The Brookings Institution

Ms. Heloisa Griggs, Counsel, U.S. Senate Committee on the Judiciary, Subcommittee on Human Rights and the Law

Mr. Morton Halperin, Senior Advisor, Open Society Institute

Mr. Larry Johnson, Columbia University; former U.N. Assistant-Secretary-General for Legal Affairs

Professor Michael Kelly, Creighton University School of Law

Mr. Michael Kleinman, Humanity United

Mr. Neil Kritz, United States Institute of Peace

Mr. Magnus Lennartsson, The Dag Hammarskjöld Foundation

Dr. Edward Luck, International Peace Institute; Special Advisor to the United Nations Secretary General

Mr. Henk Marquart Sholtz, Secretary-General, International Association of Prosecutors

Dr. Guénaël Mettraux, Defence Counsel, International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

Professor Sean Murphy, George Washington University Law School

Ms. Catherine Newcombe, U.S. Department of Justice

Mr. Steven Cash Nickerson, Executive Vice President, CFO and General Counsel, PDS Technical Services

Judge Daniel David Ntanda Nsereko, International Criminal Court

Professor Hèctor Alonso-Olàsolo, Utrecht University

Ms. Laura Olson, Senior Counsel, The Constitution Project

Mr. Gregory Peterson, The Robert H. Jackson Center

Mr. Theodore Piccone, Senior Fellow, The Brookings Institution

Ambassador Constancio Pinto, Ambassador of the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste to the United States

Judge Árpád Prandler, International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

Ambassador Stephen J. Rapp, U.S. Ambassador-at-Large for War Crimes Issues

Mr. Markus Reiterer, Attaché for Public Diplomacy and Political Matters, Embassy of Austria

Mr. Steve Riskin, United States Institute of Peace

Professor Darryl Robinson, Queen's University

Mr. Eli Rosenbaum, U.S. Department of Justice

Professor Michael Scharf, Case Western Reserve University School of Law

Professor David Scheffer, Northwestern University; former U.S. Ambassador-at-Large for War Crimes Issues

Professor Dinah Shelton, George Washington University Law School

Mr. Andrew Solomon, Fellow, The Brookings Institution

Professor Jane Stromseth, Georgetown University Law Center

Mr. Frederick Swinnen, International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

Dean Kent Syverud, Washington University School of Law

Mr. Strobe Talbott, President, The Brookings Institution

Mr. Colin Thomas-Jensen, The ENOUGH! Project

Mr. Igor Timofeyev, Paul, Hastings, Janofsky & Walker LLP

Judge Bakhtiyar Tuzmukhamedov, International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda

Mr. Rob van Bokhoven, Netherlands Ministry of Justice

Professor Elies van Sliedregt, VU Amsterdam University

Ms. Francesca Varda, Coalition for the International Criminal Court

Ms. Patricia Viseur Sellers, former Legal Advisor for Gender-Related Crimes, International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

Mr. John Washburn, Convener, American Non-Governmental Organizations Coalition for the International Criminal Court

Judge Inéz Mónica Weinberg de Roca, President, U.N. Appeals Tribunal

Ambassador Christian Wenaweser, Permanent Representative of Liechtenstein to the U.N.; President, Assembly of States Parties to the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court

Ms. Mary Werntz, Head of Regional Delegation to the U.S. and Canada, International Committee of the Red Cross

Mr. Clint Williamson, former U.S. Ambassador-at-Large for War Crimes Issues

Mr. Lawrence Woocher, United States Institute of Peace

Chancellor Mark Wrighton, Washington University in St. Louis

HRH Prince Zeid Ra'ad Zeid Al-Hussein, Ambassador of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan to the United States

Ambassador Urs Ziswiler, Ambassador of Switzerland to the United States

Mr. Joseph R. Zogby, Chief Counsel to U.S. Senator Richard Durbin

Harris Institute Personnel

Mr. B. Don Taylor III, Executive Director of the Harris Institute, Cash Nickerson Fellow

Ms. Erika Detjen, Cash Nickerson Fellow

Mr. Jason Meyer, Cash Nickerson Fellow

Ms. Margaret Wichmann, Cash Nickerson Fellow

Brookings Institution Personnel

Ms. Erin Bourgois, The Brookings Institution

Ms. Natalie Lempert, The Brookings Institution

Ms. Chareen Stark, The Brookings Institution

Ms. Erin Williams, The Brookings Institution