The SAGE program recruits, trains and financially supports Brown School Master of Social Work and Master of Public Health students who are interested in completing 360 hours of their practica in Indian Country.

The SAGE program is facilitated by the Buder Center and is able to provide SAGE recipients stipends for living expenses during their practicum in Indian Country. The Buder Center has developed strong relationships nationally with  American Indian & Alaska Native experts in the field of social work and public health. To meet SAGE criteria, identified practicum sites are organizations serving Native communities and support Native well-being through Native-led projects, programming and research.

If you are interested in learning more about this opportunity and completing practicum in Indian Country, please read the Flyer.  You can also reach out to us via  Email

If you would like to know more about how to host a SAGE student, please contact us via Email.

Students who have submitted the Letter of Intent can find the the SAGE Application here. 

2020 SAGE Recipients

Adria Brown, Chickasaw Nation

Alejandra Gonzalez, Yankton Sioux Tribe of South Dakota

Hazel Rogers

Eric Pinto, Mississippi Band of Choctaw & Zuni 

Heather Sindelar

2018 SAGE Recipients

Sierra Ayres, Keweenaw Bay Indian Community Lake Superior Band Ojibwe

Stephen Bell, Lumbee

Jamie Bruner, Muscogee Creek

Krista Catron, Prairie Band Potawatomi

Kelly Connor

Melody Delmar, Navajo

Charity Holmes, Cherokee

Katelyn Lamb

Cora McElwain

Jo Malia Milner

Kyndall Noah, Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma

Krystian Sisson, Muscogee Creek

Brandon Smith, Navajo Nation

 Danielle Tavasti, Choctaw

Jen Van Schuyver, Citizen Band Potawatomi

Julian Wahnee, Comanche/Diné

2015 SAGE Recipients

Ngombe Bitendelo, Bembe Tribe

Matthew Frank, Navajo Nation

Sheronnabah Harvey, Navajo Nation

Merry Manson, Navajo Nation

Alisha Murphy, Navajo Nation

Amanda Rhodes, Cherokee Nation

Wynette Whitegoat, Navajo Nation

Candice Yazzie, Navajo Nation

2019 SAGE Recipients

Abaki Beck, Blackfeet & Red River Métis

Marlene Cerritos-Rivas

Mariah May, Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska

Patricia Pena, Kickapoo Tribe of Kansas & First Generation Mexican American

Clara Stenstrom, Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska

2017 SAGE Recipients

Veronica Bruesch, Wichita/Ponca

Simona Charles, Shoshone-Paiute

Nick Crisp, Cherokee

Olivia Ferrara, Suquamish

Apryl Joe, Navajo Nation

Becky Plumage, Assiniboine/Gros Ventre

Airianne Posey, Piscataway

Miquela Taffa, Laguna Pueblo/Quechan

Kyla Woodard, Oglala Sioux

Melissa Yazzie, Navajo


2016 SAGE Recipients

Candy Boyd, Osage/Cherokee 

Rhonda Coursey-Pratt, Nanticoke

Malaya Dayritt

Santos Gonzales

Jasmine Grika, Cheyenne River Sioux/Ojibwe

Michaela Grillo

Stephanie Gutierrez, Oglala Lakota

Nakomis Maher, Mashpee Wampanoag

Kiyana Merritt, Cherokee

Erika Salinas, Comanche

Lacey Thompson, Oglala Lakota Sioux

Shanea Turner-Smith, Mdewakanton Sioux

Jeremy Vu, Oglala Lakota Sioux

Shayna Williams, Eastern Band Cherokee