International web accessibility standards are developed by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C). The current recommended guidelines are:

Additional Guidance

Helpful information, tools and guidance can be found on the WebAIM (Web Accessibility in Mind) site, which is a nonprofit organization founded at Utah State University:

Content Creation

WebAIM has created a one-page Web Accessibility for Designers, which is also helpful for content creators and editors.

The National Center on Disability and Access to Education (NCDAE) offers several one-page cheatsheets on creating accessible content. These may be a good place to start.

Visit past presentations from the WashU Web Accessibility Users Group for more helpful information regarding electronic accessibility.


For information on how to create accessible WordPress content, visit:


Create accessible documents in the following formats:

Video and Audio

Create accessible video and audio:

Social Media

Create accessible social media posts:


Evaluate web accessibility:


The VPAT (Voluntary Product Accessibility Template) is a form developed by the ITI (Information Technology Industry Council) that vendors complete and provide to purchasers to report on the accessibility of their digital products. Updated in April 2019, there are four different versions of the VPAT:

  • VPAT 2.3 WCAG (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines) – preferred
  • VPAT 2.3 508 (Section 508 standards)
  • VPAT 2.3 EU (European Union standards)
  • VPAT 2.3 INT (includes all three of the above)

Although the VPAT is an important part of purchasing, manual testing is still needed to fully assess a digital product’s accessibility.