About

Gaya Amarasinghe

Professor of Pathology & Immunology
Professor of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Professor of Molecular Microbiology

Department of Pathology and Immunology
Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis

BS, Biochemistry: City College of New York/CUNY, New York, New York (1997)
PhD, Biochemistry: University of Maryland, Baltimore, MD (2001)

Research

The overarching goal of my research program is to develop a mechanistic understanding of host-pathogen interactions with biological consequences to pathogenesis. These interactions promote host immune suppression and enhance pathogen replication in cell and tissue specific manner, but remain incompletely described. Results from these studies will inform on molecular mechanisms of action during infection as well as insights into potential therapeutic targets and mechanisms of action. We currently use biochemical and biophysical methods to identify and characterize components from hosts and pathogens in order to develop an atomic resolution framework. Importantly, these efforts also provide opportunities to mentor a range of trainees, including undergraduates, graduate students and postdoctoral fellows. 

Figures from Ivanov A, Ramanathan P, Parry C, Ilinykh PA, Lin X, Petukhov M, Obukhov Y, Ammosova T, Amarasinghe GK, Bukreyev A, Nekhai S. Global phosphoproteomic analysis of Ebola virions reveals a novel role for VP35 phosphorylation-dependent regulation of genome transcription. Cell Mol Life Sci. 2020 Jul;77(13):2579-2603. doi: 10.1007/s00018-019-03303-1. Epub 2019 Sep 28. PMID: 31562565; PMCID: PMC7101265.

Meet the Lab

Chao Wu
Instructor in Pathology and Immunology
chaowu@wustl.edu
Nitin Sharma
Postdoctoral Research Associate
nitins@wustl.edu
Neha Perumal
Undergraduate Student n.perumal@wustl.edu
Grace Uwase
MD/PhD Student
guwase@wustl.edu
Gavin Zhao
PhD Student
g.zhao@wustl.edu

Abraham Qavi
Postdoctoral Research Scholar
abrahamqavi@wustl.edu
Farheen Fatma
Postdoctoral Research Associate
fatma@wustl.edu
Safder Ganaie
Postdoctoral Research Associate
safder@wustl.edu
Elvin Ding
Undergraduate Student
d.elvin@wustl.edu
Griffin Brown
Undergraduate Student
griffinbrown@wustl.edu
Jess Nunn
Research Technician II
jessicanunn@wustl.edu
Nawneet Mishra
Postdoctoral Research Associate
nmishra@wustl.edu
Supeshala Nawarathnage
Postdoctoral Research Associate
sarathnawarathnage@wustl.edu
Cara Kirby
Research Assistant
carak@wustl.edu
Chris Sherman
Coord. Lab Support Services
shermanc@wustl.edu

Contact Us

Address: 4939 Childrens Place St. Louis, MO 63110

Email: gamarasinghe@wustl.edu