Recognizing outstanding contributions by faculty in health science education, the Lifetime Achievement Award is among the highest honors Washington University faculty can achieve. The awards were established in 2021 by the Academy of Educators to honor a faculty member who has shown a lifelong commitment to education and demonstrates excellence in one or more domains of educational service, leadership, or scholarship.

2021 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

Christine Berg, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA
Daniel Goodenberger, MD
James Skeath, PhD

Nominations Accepted: Spring 2023

Nomination review criteria: criteria matrix

Lifetime Achievement Nomination Requirements

Before submitting your nomination, please review the following information to assist you in submitting an appropriate nomination.

  • Nominees are at the Associate Professor or Professor level.
  • Nominees are current faculty at Washington University.
  • Nominees have at least 20 years as faculty in academic teaching setting. Academic appointments held prior to joining Washington University may be included.
  • The statement of qualifications should include how the nominee’s contributions align with the criteria matrix.
  • Three individuals must be listed who are willing to write a letter of support validating the nominee’s contributions. The nominator may list themselves as a letter writer. One letter must be submitted at the time of initial nomination.
  • Supplementary documentation examples can be provided if relevant and available.
Selection Committee: Academy of Educators Awards Subcommittee

Suzie Thibodeaux, MD (Chair)

Colleen Wallace, MD (Vice Chair)

Steven Cheng, MD

Koong-Nah Chung, PhD

Erika Crouch, MD, PhD

Shelby Dickison, MD

Nigar Kirmani, MD

Mark Levine, MD

Michelle Miller-Thomas, MD

Bethany Sacks, MD

Tammy Sonn, MD

Sharlene Teefey, MD

Paul Wise, MD

Megan Wren, MD